Adele and her refreshingly grounded body image advice

Adele triumphs with 6 Grammys

 

Love her or hate her there is no denying that singing sensation Adele is successful.  Until this was oh-so-publicly declared at the 2012 Grammy Awards, it could be argued that she was successful beyond even her own wildest dreams.  The soul singer with that thumping belter of a voice picked up six Grammys, winning in every category that she was nominated for.

What I find refreshing is that this ball of talent, which I think we have not even scratched the surface of yet, exists within a statuesque curvy frame that is only 23years old.  Often queried about her weight and its (non-existent) link to success she fires back such grounded attitudes that it makes you reality check your own.  Most recently she took on fashion royalty Karl Lagerfeld for speaking out of turn, saying “I’ve never wanted to look like models on the cover of magazines. I represent the majority of women and I’m very proud of that”.  I’ll save my thoughts on her recent Vogue covershoot for another post, but in every media interview and quote she is making statements that are wise beyond her years.  And I have to say, I’m a HUGE fan of her as a woman and positive role model.

In this 60 Minutes interview, she says “Appreciate yourself… Exploiting yourself sexually is not a good look, I don’t think.  I don’t find it encouraging.”  Bravo, me either.  Which brings me to ahem, Rihanna.

Rihanna and her ahem, lady-like dance moves at the 2012 Grammys

By contrast there she is, engaging in, in my opinion, self-destructive behaviour on a public stage and filling emotional voids with strange hair cuts, tattoos (just google Rihanna tattoo and see what you get.  And no, I am not anti-ink) and shorter, tighter clothing over her ever thinning frame.

The booze and drugs fuelled exploits in her We Found Love video look pretty authentic to me (which was banned in France after an avalanche of complaints, including the Rape Crisis Centre labelling it a ‘disgrace’).  Let me point out that I don’t take judging what I see her doing lightly.  But having been around (and engaged in) destructive behaviour I feel somewhat qualified to spot the signs, and I feel sad for what I see.  I see her drowning.  I know I’m not wrong.  I don’t want to be right, but I know I’m not wrong.  Maybe not tomorrow, maybe a long time from now, specific details may come to light.  But look at these pictures and be your own judge.  I googled so many things to find the best samples of her decline but when you get over 100 million hits for ‘Rihanna before and after’ or ‘red carpet dresses’ or ‘hairstyles’ it gets a little difficult to find that needle in the proverbial haystack.  I don’t even think this set best illustrates my point but I couldn’t quite find ones that showed the transition of her destruction of innocence/ awakening sexuality/ battered survivor/ drowning performer accurately enough.  But you get the idea.  You don’t just grow up in a tropical paradise and then one day decide to get inked and wear nothing but barbed wire!  She’s not the first good girl gone bad, and she won’t be the last but I do hope that young women look more to create the attitude of people like Adele and not go down the path of Rihanna.  It’s not too much to ask, is it?

 

Some of Rihanna's many, many looks

 

Get in and watch the banned video while you can and judge for yourself!

 

 

Comments
2 Responses to “Adele and her refreshingly grounded body image advice”
  1. Jacki says:

    Here here! 100% agree with your sentiments. I feel like an old nanna when I say to people I don’t want my daughter watching the music videos of today and think that gyrating around in barely there clothes is behaviour to look up to. The sexualisation of girls starts way too young and we need more role models the like of Adele. What a truly beautiful woman. Love her music too.

    • Couldn’t agree more! I find the Rihanna drama like roadkill, I don’t want to look but I can’t look away. I, too, feel like an old nanna because most of the time I’m mortified by what she’s doing on stage!

Share your thoughts here:

  • Archived posts